54 / 100

The counting of the 35 constituencies that came at the polling booth on December 24 will start around 9:00 am today i.e. 27 Dec, and the first counting will end one hour later. The State Election Commission is being updated from time to time by installing screens in front of all polling stations, and real-time updates are also available on the Commission’s “Nigam Chunav” mobile app, which can be downloaded from Google Play Store. The Commission appointed nine counting observers, one at each counting centre. They will transparently oversee the aggregation process.

“To ensure strict adherence to the counting protocol, the sealing and removal of the EVM seal, the Election Commission has appointed the first counting observers at all counting centres.” said the Election Commission OSD Officer  K. Bhandari. 

This time, there is an increased number of wards, i.e. 35. Earlier it used to be 26 wards. A live monitor set-up has been installed inside the control room to monitor the daily activities. The total number of candidates expected is 203, which total all the three parties, i.e. AAM AADMI PARTY, CONGRESS, and BHARTIYA JANTA PARTY. Also, the total number of voters is more than six lakhs voting across 694 polling booths in Chandigarh. 

Live Updates of the MC Election:

AAP: 14; BJP: 12; Congress: 8; SAD: 1. 

  • AAP leads three seats, 2 Congress and 1 BJP. 
  • Scrum’s richest candidate, BJP’s Anup Gupta, defeated AAP’s Omkar Singh Allah with 167 votes in 11 constituencies. 
  • AAP Ram Chander Yadav defeated Congress Dhiraj Gupta with 178 votes in the 15th branch. 
  • AAP’s Lakbir Singh defeated BJP’s Bharat Kumar with 1,062 votes in the 31st arrondissement. 
  • Congressional Gurbax Rawat defeated BJP’s Ravinder Singh Rawat by 2,862 votes in 27 categories. 
  • BJP’s Duleep Sharma leads Congress’s Ravi Kumar by 90 votes in the third division. 
  • AAP’s Anjou Kathal defeated BJP’s Hiru Negi by 76 votes in Division 22.
  • AAP’s Taruna Mehta beat BJP’s Sunita Dhawan by 1,516 votes in Division 18. 
  • Division’s Gurpit Singh wins with nine votes. 
  • Harpreet Kaur Bubla, opposition leader Devinder Singh Bubla, wins with 3,103 votes in the 10th division. This is the highest win so far. 
  • BJP’s Sarbajit Kaur wins Division 6 with 502 votes. 
  • Akali Dal’s Hardip Singh wins Division 30 with 2145 votes. 
  • AAP’s Kuldip Kumar wins Division 26 with 1,440 votes. 
  • AAP’s Manager Khan wins with 2738 votes in 29 categories


23 Prem Lata
19 Neha
4 Suman Devi
16 Poonam
15 Ram Chander Yadav
31 Lakhbir Singh
22 Anju Katyal
18 Taruna Mehta
29 Manaur Khan
21 Jasbir Singh Laddy
25 Yogesh Dhingra
1 Jaswinder Kaur
17 Damanpreet Singh
26 Kuldeep Kumar
35 Rajinder Kumar Sharma
7 Manoj Kumar
32 Jasmanpreet Singh
11 Anup Gupta
3 Dalip Sharma
12 Saurabh Joshi
2 Maheshinder  Singh Sidhu
9 Bimla Dubey
8 Harjeet Singh
6 Sarbajit Kaur
33 Kanwarjit Rana
14 Kuljeet Sandhu
5 Darshan Rani
13 Sachin Galav
10 Harpreet Kaur Babla
34 Gurpreet Singh
27 Gurbax Rawat
16 Nirmla Devi
24 Jasbir Singh
20 Gurcharanjit Singh
30 Hardeep Singh

You May Also Like…